cd error - Mustang Boards
Mustang Boards

Go Back   Mustang Boards > Mustang Madness > General Tech Forum

General Tech Forum Use this form for tech related topics that relate to all/most Mustang platforms
Sponsored by CARiD
Click Here


USERNAME:
PASSWORD:
Remember Me?


 
Welcome to the Mustang Boards.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-19-2009, 04:13 AM
White 08 GT CS's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Default cd error

anyone ever had a cd error pop up on there radio before? its got 5 of my cds but says no cd. then when i turn it on it will say initializing but wont do anything. i cant get my cds out or nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2009, 05:49 AM
Black Sunshine's Avatar
By demons be driven.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,844
Default

Yes, I have an '05 GT and I have problems every once in a while. For instance, I'll insert an original album (not a copied album), and the CD player will tell me its a 'bad disc'. Sometimes, it will play copied albums and when it gets to the last song and starts over, it will all of a sudden decide that it is a 'bad disc'. But I haven't had any problems more severe than that.

Since your car is an '08, it should still be under warranty. So if you're having problems of that caliber, you need to take it back to the dealer and have them replace the head unit. This is not something you will be able to fix on your own unless you buy an aftermarket radio.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2009, 05:52 AM
blank
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,451
Default

I wonder if the newer cars had the same problem as the old Mach head units had. Usually when I got that error, it was because the CD got hung up on the cover and therefore got stuck while ejecting. For me, a flexible card (such as a drivers license) inserted between the CD and cover solves my problems. Problem usually doesn't happen for me, unless I'm changing CDs while on the highway (go figure).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:00 AM
spike_africa's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando,Florida
Posts: 11,974
Send a message via AIM to spike_africa
Default

My in dash 6 disc has done it since the day I got it. It does not like any CD's unless they are burnt ones and are thin. I just tap the front of the CD player every time I tell it to eject a CD and they never get stuck anymore.
__________________
Dustin
2002 GT Mustang 5-Speed
Drag Radials,Sprayed,Powershifted,Tuned By:www.vmptuning.com
HID kit and Cleaned with Products fromwww.spikemotoring.com


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:07 AM
01FR500's Avatar
I'd Hit It
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texarkana, TX/Conway, AR
Posts: 2,847
Send a message via AIM to 01FR500
Default

I just have to re-try it until it works. It doesn't like to find the CD that I press the button for. I can't hear the radio above 1.5K rpm anyway.
__________________
2003 GT
Torque Arm | MM Coilovers | Tokico Illuminas | Full Cobra Brakes | Front & rear brake ducts | MM c/c plates | MM XL SFCs | MM Adj. LCA | MM Panhard bar | MM Alum. rack bushings | X2 balljoints | Gears | JLT RAI | MGW shifter | Alum. 3 row boxed-in radiator | Poly bushings | Carbon fiber hood | Clutch mods | endless other goodies and a few appearance mods...
Driver Mod (work in progress)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:50 AM
03_GT's Avatar
Smoke Tires....Not Drugs.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ameila Island, Flow-Duh
Posts: 1,064
Send a message via AIM to 03_GT
Default

the same thing happend to me in my 03, but with my short temper i punched the head unit and then was out a raido for 2 weeks...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2009, 07:24 AM
Must See's Avatar
8-2=6
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 3,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03_GT View Post
the same thing happend to me in my 03, but with my short temper i punched the head unit and then was out a raido for 2 weeks...
and then you got my old one right?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2009, 08:19 AM
03_GT's Avatar
Smoke Tires....Not Drugs.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ameila Island, Flow-Duh
Posts: 1,064
Send a message via AIM to 03_GT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Must See View Post
and then you got my old one right?

i used to have it, it started to pull that cd error crapl like 2 months ago, oh well, got a nice kenwood in the car now..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-19-2009, 02:45 PM
White 08 GT CS's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassman97 View Post
I wonder if the newer cars had the same problem as the old Mach head units had. Usually when I got that error, it was because the CD got hung up on the cover and therefore got stuck while ejecting. For me, a flexible card (such as a drivers license) inserted between the CD and cover solves my problems. Problem usually doesn't happen for me, unless I'm changing CDs while on the highway (go figure).
didnt think of that, have to give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-19-2009, 02:47 PM
White 08 GT CS's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Default

well i have done alot to the car, i hope its still under warranty. i never did anything to the radio but i know how **** companies can be about their warranties.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-19-2009, 03:31 PM
spike_africa's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando,Florida
Posts: 11,974
Send a message via AIM to spike_africa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03_GT View Post
i used to have it, it started to pull that cd error crapl like 2 months ago, oh well, got a nice kenwood in the car now..
Which one do you have?
__________________
Dustin
2002 GT Mustang 5-Speed
Drag Radials,Sprayed,Powershifted,Tuned By:www.vmptuning.com
HID kit and Cleaned with Products fromwww.spikemotoring.com


Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-19-2009, 05:15 PM
SeanStang's Avatar
Bottle Fed V6
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 2,086
Send a message via AIM to SeanStang
Default

Those cd changers are ****. I'm on my second one and even this one is garbage.
__________________


2001 Laser Red V6 Mac long tubes, Mac o/r h pipe, Magnaflow Catback, cai, H&R Super Sports,
Tokico Illumina shocks/struts, MM C/C plates, KennyBrown subframe connectors,
front and rear sway bars, Cobra brake kit, 8.8 rear w/ 3.73's, 100 shot Zex nitrous kit, XCal3.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-20-2009, 01:00 AM
White 08 GT CS's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Default

yea i think im just gonna get a new radio. something nice. any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-20-2009, 03:53 AM
blank
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White 08 GT CS View Post
well i have done alot to the car, i hope its still under warranty. i never did anything to the radio but i know how **** companies can be about their warranties.
It is illegal for a company to claim the warranty is null and void unless they can prove that an aftermarket part has caused the problem. In otherwords, they can't say that a CAI has made your warranty null and void if the problem is the radio.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-20-2009, 10:23 AM
White 08 GT CS's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassman97 View Post
It is illegal for a company to claim the warranty is null and void unless they can prove that an aftermarket part has caused the problem. In otherwords, they can't say that a CAI has made your warranty null and void if the problem is the radio.
cool, makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-20-2009, 10:49 AM
Deathdiesel's Avatar
Bored...
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Texas, Gatesville
Posts: 2,500
Default

Yea thats kinda what i heard from my brother, Id take it into shop first and see atleast what they said, unless you did some wire splicing that was connected to the radio you should be fine.
__________________
CAI+Springs+Plugs and Wires+Convert+Silver+2000+Allot of apearance mods=My babey.


Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedACobra View Post
Wow this kid is a ******* failure. Seriously dude, go chug some draino.

******* middle schoolers...
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Icefreezen General Tech Forum 3 05-29-2006 02:55 PM
Would'nt want to make this error on an ebay auction DarkSith The Lounge 12 02-06-2006 07:56 AM
error codes in '02 GT cobra1923 Modular 4.6L Tech 3 01-11-2006 04:55 AM
Ford EEC Error Codes mystics7 Modular 4.6L Tech 3 06-14-2005 12:16 PM
Member Info Error MattJ The Lounge 3 12-22-2004 02:02 PM


Tags
07, 2002, 2003, 6disc, cd, cds, error, fix, ford, gt, initialiizing, initializing, mach, mustang, player, radio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 


Ad Management by RedTyger